What is SaveMuni?

Save Muni was founded in 2010 to improve service on San Francisco’s public transit system. For several years we focused primarily on the SFMTAs ill conceived, politically motivated Central Subway project. We pointed out the absence of a project alternatives analysis, major conceptual engineering mistakes and the exaggerated ridership projections and greatly understated cost impact of the project.

Since 2013 Save Muni has increasingly focused on making all of San Francisco’s public transit system better. We advocated for ways to reduce trip times, improve on-time performance, increase safety on the buses and trains and boost ridership. We proposed changes in the internal structure of the SFMTA, and pointed out the obstacles that stand in the way of consistently reliable transit service.

Save Muni realizes that a big part of the challenge involves the way transit funds are allocated and spent. We urge the focus of spending be on improving public transit operations, positioning Muni to serve a growing city, fully implementing the city’s Transit First policy and extending Caltrain to the Salesforce Transit Center without further delay. We advocate for those objectives but understand that they cannot be realized unless scarce transportation capital is carefully allocated and spent.

Save Muni allies itself with like minded civic, labor, environmental and, neighborhood groups to achieve cost-effective public transit improvements.

An important part of our mission is to provide educational Forums for the community on transportation issues. We have held several major Forums that are described under the Events section.

Save Muni is an independent, all volunteer organization. We receive no financial support from the SFMTA or the city of San Francisco.

Current officers are:
Bob Feinbaum, President (bobf@att.net)
Jean Barrish, Vice President
Howard Woing, Treasurer
David Pilpel, Member at Large